A proposito di Kimi

GP Russia, commenti post gara–12/10/2015

Russian GP move on Valtteri Bottas not stupid – Kimi Raikkonen

Kimi Raikkonen has insisted his lunge on Formula 1 rival Valtteri Bottas on the last-lap of the Russian Grand Prix was not "stupid".

The Ferrari driver hit Bottas’s Williams while challenging for third place, after both had nipped past Force India’s Sergio Perez as the Mexican’s tyres faded.

Bottas was pitched into the barriers and out of the race while Raikkonen limped across the line in fifth.

The Finn was then given a 30-second penalty by the stewards, which dropped him to eighth.

"I don’t think it was something completely stupid that I tried," said Raikkonen.

"I would have made the corner but usually when there’s two cars, there are many ways of looking at it.

"I was there but he didn’t know I was there and in that, you will have a contact.

"It’s an unfortunate thing, not just for us but for them.

"You never want to have accidents, but that’s racing and things happen."

Bottas disagreed with Raikkonen’s opinion, insisting it was not a racing incident.

But Ferrari team principal Maurizio Arrivabene backed his driver, pointing to a collision between Raikkonen and Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo in Monaco going unpunished.

In that race, Ricciardo dived down the inside of Raikkonen at Mirabeau in the closing stages of the grand prix to take fifth and the pair clashed, with the Finn forced wide and losing the place – but the stewards opted not to take action.

"It’s a race incident," he said.

"If you look in Monaco for example, Ricciardo/Kimi was more or less the same and it was considered a race accident.

"So I don’t see any reason why this can’t be considered as it was considered in Monaco."

Da Autosport.com



“It was no crazy move”

Kimi said he “took a chance” with Bottas

Kimi Raikkonen: “All through the race the car was behaving well, especially after the pit stop, but then I was stuck behind other cars and had no speed on the straight, so it was hard to get past. In the final stages, I tried to overtake Valtteri in the same place I had passed him earlier in the race, I had a good run in turn 3 and in the next one there would have been enough space, so I decided to go for it. I don’t know if he was not expecting me at all or if he did not see me, but once I decided to go there was no way I could back off. I tried to turn inside as much as I could, but there was no way to go and in the end we collided. It is an unfortunate thing for us and for them, nobody want to have an accident even if it’s part of racing. It’s really a shame, but my move was based on a good chance and not something completely crazy.”

Da Ferrari.com

 

Lascia un commento

